Live BBL: Heat take massive early scalp after AB magic finally lights up BBL

Melbourne Stars vs Brisbane Heat at MCG — Watch BBL 09 LIVE on Fox Cricket!

South African great AB de Villiers put on a superb display of power hitting to score his first BBL half-century and propel the Brisbane Heat to 5-186 against the Melbourne Stars at the MCG.

In reply, the Stars are 2-32 after four overs with Nick Larkin (1) and Peter Handscomb at the crease.

KFC T20 Big Bash LeagueBrought to you by bet365

Dangerman Marcus Stoinis was dismissed in the fourth over by James Pattinson for 17, before Seb Gotch was clean bowled by him four balls later.

MATCH CENTRE: Stars vs Heat

Watch every single KFC BBL match LIVE & On-Demand on KAYO with FOX CRICKET’s unmatched commentary line-up. New to Kayo? Get your 14-day free trial & start streaming instantly >

Lynn loses to leaping Larkin

Lynn loses to leaping Larkin


De Villiers blasted six sixes on his way to 71 from 37 balls on Saturday night, with three of them coming from the final over of the innings bowled by debutant Dilbar Hussain.

The Pakistani quick finished with figures of 1-56 after de Villiers holed out to mid-off off the last ball of the innings.

It was a baptism of fire for Hussain, who was only signed as an international replacement for countryman Haris Rauf this week and met some of his teammates for the first time just minutes before the match.


LOST PLOT: Former England skipper defends Stokes after foul-mouthed row with fan

‘COULDN’T BELIEVE IT’: How Warner ‘wowed’ himself and found Ashes redemption

‘F***ING FOUR-EYED C***’: Stokes apologises for foul-mouthed rant at spectator

BBL BEST MOMENTS: A 106-metre monster, Carey’s classic catch

Zampa's fiery send off

Zampa’s fiery send off


The Heat were 1-38 after three overs after Chris Lynn won the bat flip, but Adam Zampa (3-27) and Sandeep Lamichhane (1-16) helped apply the brakes.

Lynn made 34 from 31 deliveries before he was brilliantly caught by Nick Larkin, who took a diving catch at full pace at deep square-leg.

The Heat are seventh after losing their last lost three games and desperately need a win if they are to keep their finals chances alive.

The Stars have lost their last two matches, but have already sewn up top spot and will host a qualifying final against the second-placed team at the MCG on Friday night.


Stars: Marcus Stoinis, Nic Maddinson, Nick Larkin, Glenn Maxwell (c), Peter Handscomb, Seb Gotch (wk), Nathan Coulter-Nile, Clint Hinchliffe, Adam Zampa, Dilbar Hussain, Sandeep Lamichhane

Heat: Ben Cutting, Sam Heazlett, Chris Lynn (c), AB de Villiers (wk), Matthew Renshaw, Marnus Labuschagne, Jack Prestwidge, James Pattinson, Mitchell Swepson, Ben Laughlin, Mujeeb Ur Rahman

LISTEN! Wrapping up India’s ODI series win over Aussies on The Follow-On



Follow the action in our blog below. If you can’t see it click here.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *